3-4 February 2018: Udaipur hosts a 2-day Literary Fest

A 2-day state level literary event is being hosted in the City of Lakes!

Young and talented youth from Rajasthan are taking part in the conference which is organized in collaboration with Rajasthan Sahitya Academy. The writers are gathering from various districts like Barmer, Nagor, Sirohi, Jaipur, Dholpur, Baran, Dungarpur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Churu, Sikar, Jhunjhunu, Sriganganagar, Hanumangarh.

‘राजस्थान में युवा लेखन’ (young and budding writings of Rajasthan) is the topic around which young writers would discuss the forms of contemporary writing. About 80 young writers of less than 35 years of age are participating in this event.

The event inaugurated at 10 am on Saturday (3 February 2018) in the academy auditorium. Youth activist Pravin Ratlia was invited as the chief guest and Bhagwan Sahay Jatwa, Secretary of Udaipur’s Agricultural Produce Market Committee (APMC), was the special guest on this occasion.

The closing ceremony will be held at 11 am on Sunday (4 February 2018), in which UIT Chairperson Ravindra Shrimali and Maharana Pratap Agriculture and Technology University Registrar Priyanka Jodhavat will be guests.

  • On Saturday, Poetry recitation and storytelling sessions are being hosted in which lectures by experts and letter reading by the young writers will be the main attraction.
  • On Sunday, there will be lectures, recitations on various fictional prose genres.

During this two-day event, senior writers from all over the state, like Sawai Singh Shekhawat from Jaipur, Kundan Mali of Udaipur, Surendra D. Sini of Churu, Malay Penari of Udaipur, Naveen Nandana, Jyotipunj, Surendrasinh Rao, will works in close liaison with the young writer attendees.

Hindi News Source: Patrika


Writers from the state felicitated with the Amrit Award in Udaipur

Ashok Gehlot

The Amrit Award ceremony was held in Udaipur yesterday on account of the 55th Foundation day of the Literature Academy (Sahitya Akademy). On this occasion, for the first time in the history of 55 years, the Chief Minister attended the ceremony. Chief Minister Mr. Ashok Gehlot felicitated 13 writers from the state with the Amrit Shri Award. The laureates who were awarded with the Amrit Shri Felicitation were:

  • Bhagwati Prasad Devpura (Nathdawara)
  • Mohanlal Madhukar (Bharatpur)
  • Shri Harsh(Bikaner)
  • Nalini Upadhyay (Jaipur )
  • Murlimanohar Manjul (Jaipur)
  • Abid Adeeb (Udaipur)
  • Jaynarayan Godd(Jaipur)
  • Satyaendra Chaturvedi (Jaipur)
  • Madan Mohan Parihar(Jodhpur)
  • Suresh Mishra (Jaipur)
  • Bhawanilal Bhartiya (Jodhpur)
  • Ranveer Sahay Verma (Jaipur)
  • Brijendra Koshik (Kota)

On this occasion, the cheif minister announced the Jannu Bhai (Janardhan Rai Nagar) award to be given to one writer every year, which will also include the prize amount of Rs. 1 Lakh cash, and the selection of the laureate will be done at the state level by all the 8 Literature Academy.

During the ceremony, Academy president Ved Vyas said that from April the other academies, universities and cultural institutions will campaign together with the cultural renaissance.

The dignitaries present in the ceremony were Dr. B.L. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Rajasthan University, Prof. I. V. Trivedi, Vice Chancellor, MLSU, Vice Chancellor of Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University Kota Dr. Naresh Dadhich, creative writer Prof. Nand Chaturvedi, MP Raghuveer Meena, Sajjan Katara, and the Rajasthan Sahitya Academy dignitaries including President Ved Vyas.

Rajasthan Sahitya Academy Award

Rajasthan Sahitiya Academy Award

Rajasthan Sahitiya Academy Award

Rajasthan Sahitiya Academy Award

Rajasthan Sahitiya Academy Award

Photographs by: Mujtaba RG