Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad rail route identified as high-speed corridor

The Railways has identified six sections for high speed and semi-high speed rail corridors which also includes Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad sections.

High-speed corridors are those sections where trains can run at a speed of 300 km/hr. According to the Railway Board Chairman, V K Yadav, a detailed project report (DPR) will be ready on this project within a year’s time.

The Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed route will be joined with the new high-speed corridor.

The six sections for high-speed corridor include:

  • Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad – 886 km
  • Delhi-Noida-Agra-Lucknow-Varanasi – 865
  • Mumbai-Nasik-Nagpur – 753 km
  • Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad – 711 km
  • Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore – 435 km
  • Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar – 459 km

The detailed project report will study the feasibility of the project by checking the land availability, traffic potential and alignment. On the basis of these factors, the Railway Board will decide if the route is fit for the high-speed or semi-high-speed corridor.