BJP’s Govind Singh Tank elected as the New Mayor of Udaipur

Govind Singh Tank, former chairman of Rajasthan Public Service Commission, got elected as the new mayor of Udaipur city. BJP won 44 seats out of 70 in the civic body election (Nagar Nigam Chunav) held earlier this month.

On the opposition side, Congress had fielded Arun Tank for the post of Udaipur Municipal Corporation Mayor. Although the opposition party was hoping some support from the dissatisfied BJP councillors, its hope went all in vain when all the 44 councillors of BJP voted for the 75-year-old politician.

Congress candidate, Arun Tank, secured 20 votes from its party councillors losing against Govind Tank, who secured 46 votes in total.

After the Municipal Election results were declared this month on 19th November, all the 46 councillors of BJP were shifted to unknown places. They were then directly brought to Udaipur Municipal Corporation office to cast their votes for the mayor. 

After the result was declared, Govind Singh Tank, sworn in as the new mayor for Udaipur Municipal Corporation. Mr Tank is retired RPS Chief and Ex-Chief Engineer of Public Works Department.