Eighth Women Together Awardee: Maharana Arvind Singh Mewar

Shriji Arvind Singh Mewar It is the moment of immense proud and pleasure for the royal family and all the people of Mewar, that our own Maharana Arvind Singh Mewar has been selected for the Eighth Women Together(WT) Award for “Contribution to universal Culture” at the United Nations. ‘Women Together’, one of the most prestigious awards of the United Nations is a tribute to his work through the Maharana of Mewar Charitable Foundation. This award will be received by Shriji Arvind Singh Mewar of Udaipur on June 5, 2012 at the UN General Assembly in New York. He is the second Indian who has bagged this prestigious honour. Maharana Arvind Singh Ji is the present Chairman and Managing Director of the MMCF, which is a charitable foundation, laid by Maharana Bhagwat Singh Mewar, The largest of the nine public charitable institutions set up in 1969 with the motive to sustain the responsibility of the Mewar House towards humanity after the union of the state of Udaipur into the Republic of India in 1947. This foundation is active in sectors like academics, environment, and heritage conservation and is concerned with the people’s welfare. It has a dedicated team of 260 members and has so far invested about 2 million dollars into 32 projects in different sectors. The Women together (WT) is a non government organization, which is a part of the Economic and Social Council of the United States (ECOSOC), selected the Maharana of Mewar Charitable Foundation (MMCF) to be awarded this year. The goal of this organization is to make the world a better place to live where mankind can aspire to those which present an important and relevant contribution to universal culture and help to achieve the Millennium Development Goals, both in personal and business environment. This unique case study is done by the governance at the highest level. Ela Bhatt is the first Indian who was honored with this award. others who bagged the award in past are Queen Rania of Jordan, Wangari Maathai, Isabel Yanguas, Shirin Ebadi, Barbara Probst Solomon, Louise Bourgeois, Violy McCauslant, Mario Testio, Silvia Earle, Shakira, Antonio Banderas, Katie Ford, Agatha Ruiz de la Parada, and Gaetana Enders (Mary Robinson). Some institutions and companies were also awarded like Grameen Bank, La Caixa Foundation, Aveda, Banco Santander, Toyota, Mango and Mario Santo Domingo. UdaipurBlog congratulates Maharana Arvind Singh Ji for this great achievement, and wishes all the good luck to the Maharana Mewar Charitable Foundation for its prosperity.  🙂